Sivasakthi shines brightest at Bengaluru FC Awards Night

Roy Krishna Named Players’ Player of the Season; Javi Hernandez Gets Fans’ Vote

Bengaluru: Bengaluru FC’s players and staff congregated for the annual Bengaluru FC Awards Night, in Bengaluru, on Thursday, to mark the end of what was a phenomenal season that saw Simon Grayson’s men make the final of all three major competitions this year.

The Blues were crowned Durand Cup Champions in September, becoming the first and only Indian football club to win every major honour. 

“It’s been a fantastic season, and one that we can all be really proud of. It was great to have the BFC family come out and celebrate what is an unbelievable achievement. I’m really proud of this bunch of players and staff, and now is the time for them to rest and recharge their batteries. I’m looking forward to working with them for next season already,” said Grayson, while addressing the gathering on Thursday. 

In a star-studded ceremony, Fijian striker Roy Krishna received the Players’ Player of the Season Award, presented by JSW Group, after contributing 16 goals (10 goals, 6 assists) to the Blues’ cause this season. His fellow striker, Sivasakthi, was awarded the Top Scorer Award, for scoring 11 goals across all competitions this season, and also received the Popeyes’ Emerging Player of the Season Award. 

“I am very happy and proud of the season we have had. Personally, I received so much support from the staff, and my teammates, especially the senior players. I hope to do much more in the next season,” said Sivasakthi. 

Skipper Sunil Chhetri’s freekick in the Indian Super League knockout game against Kerala Blasters was voted as the Goal of the Season; while Spanish playmaker Javi Hernández, who was the Blues’ top scorer in the ISL (7 goals) and the Super Cup (2 goals), won the Toit Bengaluru FC Fans’ Player of the Season Award. 

Blue Colts’ defender Robin Yadav was recognized as the BFC B Player of the Year, after impressing for the reserves and then ending Karnataka’s trophy drought by scoring in the semifinal and final to bring the Santosh Trophy home. 


Top Scorer: Sivasakthi Narayanan, 11 goals 

Players’ Player of the Season: Roy Krishna 

Toit Bengaluru FC Fans’ Player of the Season: Javi Hernández

Goal of the Season: Sunil Chhetri (Freekick scored against Kerala Blasters in the ISL knockout, at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium) 

BFC B Player of the Season: Robin Yadav 

Emerging Player of the Season: Sivasakthi Narayanan

Malcare WordPress Security