Bengaluru FC set to defend Development League crown

Jan Van Loon Set To Lead As Blue Colts Aim To Qualify For PL NextGen Cup; Face Kickstart FC In Opener

Bengaluru: Bengaluru FC have announced their 40-man squad set to begin their defence of the Reliance Foundation Development League, the second edition of which is set to commence at the Bangalore Football Stadium, in Bengaluru, on Wednesday, with a clash against Kickstart FC. Nearly 50 clubs from across the country are set to fight it out in the new format of the tournament, with qualification for the Premier League NextGen Cup on the cards following regional and national rounds. 

Blues’ Head of Youth Development Jan Van Loon will lead the side in his role of Head Coach, with Kaizad Ambapardiwalla named Assistant Coach. The Blue Colts’ squad comprises first-team players Amay Morajkar, Damaitphang Lyngdoh and Sharon Padattil, among others. Felixson Fernandes, Clarence Fernandes, Rajanbir Singh and Shreyas Ketkar are among those who featured for the Blues in the recently concluded Stafford Challenge Cup that have made the squad for the Development League. 

“The Development League is a great opportunity for several of our young players to test themselves against some of the best youth teams in the country. As a club, it also gives us the opportunity to assess where our youth development program ranks among others in the country. We have some exciting players in our ranks who are eager to take the step up towards the senior team and this tournament is a good opportunity for them to show us what they are made of,” said Van Loon after announcing the squad. 

Bekey Oram, Lalremtluanga Fanai, Kamalesh Palanisamy, Robin Yadav and Ankith Padmanabhan also make their way into the squad after impressing for the Karnataka state side in their victorious Santosh Trophy campaign. 

The Blues will compete in the Regional Qualifiers, and begin their campaign against Kickstart FC at the Bangalore Football Stadium on Wednesday. The top 20 teams qualify for the National Group Stage, while the top four teams from the National Group Stage will then compete for the RFDL National Championship and also qualify for the PL NextGen Cup. 



Head Coach: Jan van Loon
Assistant Coach: Kaizad Ambapardiwala

Goalkeepers: Sharon Padattil, Dipesh Chauhan, Athul Raj CV, Narengbam Rohen Singh, Ishan Gyan

Defenders: Harpreet Singh, Felixson Fernandes, Clarence Fernandes, Robin Yadav, Rajanbir Singh, Ashik Adhikari, Oinam Ronex Meitei, Nived Shetty, Mukti Sekh, Newton Singh, Ishaan Singla 

Midfielders: Amay Morajkar, Damaitphang Lyngdoh, Kamalesh Palanisamy, Bekey Oram, Shighil NS, Shreyas Ketkar, Vinith Venkatesh, Lalremtluanga Fanai, Harsh Patre, Fredy Chawngthansanga, Basudev CM, Bankit Lyngkor Diengdoh, Lalhmingchhuanga, Vanlaltleipuia

Forwards: Thoi Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Monirul Molla, Harmanpreet Singh, Ankith Padmanabhan, Satendra Singh, Lalpekhlua, Sanjembam Tomthinganba Meitei, Vivaan Vikram Dey, Taorem Kelvin Singh



Bengaluru FC vs Kickstart FC – Wednesday, 8 March, 2023 

FC Mangalore vs Bengaluru FC – Saturday, 11 March, 2023 

Bengaluru FC vs FC Bengaluru United – Wednesday, 15 March, 2023 

Mohammedan Sporting vs Bengaluru FC – Monday, 20 March, 2023 

Bengaluru FC vs Roots FC – Wednesday, 22 March, 2023 

Sreenidi Deccan FC vs Bengaluru FC – Saturday, 25 March, 2023 

Bengaluru FC vs Chennaiyin FC – TBC

Malcare WordPress Security